About us

The Aoraki Multicultural Council was formed in May 2004, as an initiative to raise funds for the Tsunami in South East Asia.
Following on, we became a member of NZFEC – Zealand Federation of Ethnic Councils (now New Zealand Federation of Multicultural Councils).

We now have members from 70 different cultural backgrounds involved in the council.

The Vision & Mission

  • People valuing and celebrating cultural diversity
  • To promote goodwill, tolerance and understanding among people of diverse ethnic cultures
  • To work together in our community with the aim of fostering a tolerant and harmonious society
  • The Aoraki community is one of inclusion and acceptance allowing all cultures to have a sense of belonging and know they are valued contributors

What we do

  • Promote, preserve and support multi cultural customs, languages and cultures of the district through social contacts, festivals and gatherings
  • Support and guide people on personal and community matters to help them settle while retaining their cultural identities
  • Promote joint actions and interactions between different cultural groups within the region

Governance (Executive Committee)

Executive Committee of volunteers elected by the members at the AGM.
There areĀ 7 committee members.

  • Chairperson – Kate Wright
  • Vice Chairperson – Leigh Lawless
  • Treasurer- Kashyap Hari
  • Secretary – Yuko Eguchi
  • Tony Howey
  • Belinda Dewe

The Aoraki Multicultural Council Inc. is funded by:
United Way Office_of_Ethnic_Communities_Colour-Logo Lottery Community Trust


(Visited 276 times, 1 visits today)